The city of Jijona

Jijona is a great place to escape and relax. This small town boasts spectacular panoramic landscapes, rugged mountains, picturesque rivers, and a rich and varied cuisine that will delight the taste of any visitor.

Festivals and stories:

In the second half of August, the Moors and Christians festivals take place, dedicated to the city's patron saints: San SebastiΓ‘n and San BartolomΓ©. This festive trilogy in Jijona has been documented since the mid-18th century. As the "heladores" cannot participate in the city's patronal festivals, which take place in summer, since 1978, the Moors and Christians of the "Heladores" celebrate them during the second half of February. Among the most popular celebrations is Holy Week, two days of festivities during which the traditional "mona" is eaten and the catxerulo (kite) is flown. In the past, Corpus Christi was another popular holiday in which locals decorated the streets with their household clothes and hung their characteristic β€œmonots” or dolls on the doors of their houses.

The nougat:

It is a very characteristic Christmas dessert of the season, since it is characterized by the mixture of ground almonds and honey, which gives it its characteristic consistency and very pasty texture.

Regarding the origin of "turrΓ³n", there is historical evidence of the existence of the candy in the town of Sexona (today Jijona) as early as the 16th century. In fact, it was the Arabs who introduced this popular treat and spread its recipe and ingredients.

On the other hand, it is believed that already in Greek times a paste was prepared based on nuts (mainly almonds) and honey. In theory, this product was used by Greek athletes as an energy product for their participation in the Olympic Games.

Bestsellers

Our best sellers on the site
Horchata de chufa BIO - Cuisine d'Espagne
€5,00 €5,00 / l
ORGANIC chufa horchata

contact us

La ville de Jijona

Jijona est un endroit idéal pour s'évader et se relaxer. Cette petite ville possède des paysages panoramiques spectaculaires, des montagnes escarpées, des rivières pittoresques, et une cuisine riche et variée qui ravira le goût de tous les visiteurs.

Fêtes et histoires :

Dans la seconde moitié du mois d'août ont lieu les fêtes des Maures et des Chrétiens, dédiées aux saints patrons de la ville : San Sebastián et San Bartolomé. Cette trilogie festive à Jijona est documentée depuis le milieu du 18e siècle. Comme les "heladores" ne peuvent pas participer aux fêtes patronales de la ville, qui ont lieu en été, depuis 1978, les Maures et les chrétiens des "Heladores" les célèbrent pendant la deuxième quinzaine de février. Parmi les célébrations les plus populaires figure la Semaine sainte, deux jours de festivités au cours desquels on mange la traditionnelle "mona" et on fait voler le catxerulo (cerf-volant). Autrefois, le Corpus Christi était une autre fête populaire au cours de laquelle les habitants décoraient les rues avec leurs vêtements de maison et accrochaient leurs « monots » ou poupées caractéristiques aux portes de leurs maisons.

Le nougat :

C'est un dessert de Noël très caractéristique de la saison, car il se caractérise par le mélange d'amandes moulues et de miel, qui lui donne sa consistance caractéristique et sa texture très pâteuse.

En ce qui concerne l'origine du "turrón", il existe des preuves historiques de l'existence du bonbon dans la ville de Sexona (aujourd'hui Jijona) dès le XVIe siècle. En fait, ce sont les Arabes qui ont introduit cette friandise populaire et ont diffusé sa recette et ses ingrédients.

D'autre part, on pense que déjà à l'époque grecque, une pâte était préparée à base de noix (principalement des amandes) et de miel. En théorie, ce produit était utilisé par les sportifs grecs comme produit énergétique pour leur participation aux Jeux olympiques.

Best sellers

Nos meilleures vente sur le site
Horchata de chufa BIO - Cuisine d'Espagne
€5,00 €5,00 / l
Horchata de chufa BIO

Contactez-nous